RSS

Day 42 – Animal Testing is Necessary For My Beauty

04 Aug
Day 42 – Animal Testing is Necessary For My Beauty

Big Beauty Brands Throw Cruelty-Free Policy Out of the Window for Profit

Thu, 2 Aug 2012|Published in Animals & Nature, Beauty &Trends
In this economical profit system, you either go with the flow, or try to go against it. The former gives you more chances to earn more money, as well as becoming more shallow, lose your moral sense and ethics. The follow article shocked me, no not really, these things don’t shock me anymore because they have become quite normal and expectable considering our economic system.L’Occitane, Caudalie and Yves Rocher are among those that are ditching cruelty-free animal testing policies in order to sell their products to China. Why? Because the law in China states that all cosmetic products for humans, have to be tested on animals first.

Thus, those companies now have to remove their “against animal cruelty” logo. Bye bye leeping bunny! I know several people who bought products from Yves Rocher ONLY because it was against animal testing. Now, they wont buy from them anymore. I am not sure how much customers they will loose, but maybe they thought it was worth it, considering the profit they would earn from agreeing with the China policy. Animals now have to pay the price for their profit lust.

Animal testing is not necessary, at all. We have proven this for many years now. Many brands stopped testing on animals, and still dont. We already have enough products to wash our bloody hair, clean our teeth and make our body soft, dont you think?

‘I am disappointed that certain companies have fallen prey to the lure of the Chinese market and are letting animals pay the price. Consumer pressure can make a difference.  – Cruelty Free International chief executive Michelle Thew‘

Leeping Bunny

‘We certify over 400 companies around the world that refuse to allow animal testing into their products, so there is plenty of choice for everyone who wishes to eliminate this cruel, unnecessary and outdated practice.

‘The only way that you can avoid animal testing in your toiletries and beauty products is by looking for the Leaping Bunny logo, or checking www.GoCrueltyFree.org.

Britain banned animal testing in 1998 and several large cosmetics companies including Paul Mitchell, Sainbury’s, The Co-operative, Superdrug, Marks & Spencer all have Leaping Bunny certification meaning they are cruelty-free.

Hair-care giant John Paul Mitchell Systems pulled out of China after being informed that the company would have to pay for animal tests in order to continue selling its products there.

Paul Mitchell CEO and co-founder John Paul DeJoria put sales in China on hold last year and confirmed they will not sell products in that country in order to remain committed to the company’s cruelty-free policy.

Mr DeJoria said: ‘Since Paul Mitchell was founded in 1980, we have been cruelty-free.

‘We do not conduct or condone animal testing on our products, and we will not attempt to market our products in China until alternatives to animal testing methods have been accepted by the government.

‘Paul Mitchell always has been and always will be cruelty-free.’

Dr Dan Lyons, Campaigns Director of internal animal protection organisation Uncaged, said it is down to individual companies to make a stand.

He continued: ‘It’s a fundamental decision companies need to make.

‘It’s much better if they stick to their principles and avoid China, which will put pressure on the government to change their own policies.

‘It’s unnecessary for China to require repeat and totally unnecessary testing on these products.’

Urban Decay has also recently decided to cancel its plans to enter the Chinese market after being informed of the animal testing requirements.

Spokesman for the charity People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA) Foundation, Alistair Currie, said: ‘We are seeing welcome signs of progress in China but their current animal testing requirements are a major factor pushing up cosmetics tests on animals globally.

‘Companies who have turned their backs on their non-animal testing policies because of the lure of China have regressed a generation: their products are once again being dripped into rabbits’ eyes and smeared onto animals’ abraded skin.

‘While many progressive and principled companies are sticking to their non-animal testing policies, others need more motivation.’

But the revelation that some large name brands are giving up their cruelty-free status to sell to China will come as a surprise to many shoppers.

Even more surprisingly, there are many huge international brands including Chanel, Yves Saint Laurent and Revlon, which have never been able to use the Leaping Bunny logo because of their animal testing policies.

And while an EU-wide ban on the marketing of animal-tested cosmetics is due to come into force next year, campaigners warn that the European Commission is now contemplating compromises or even delays to the legislation.

Mr Currie continued: ‘It’s vital that the EU protect its own ban on the sale of animal-tested cosmetics due in 2013.

‘We’ve led the world on this issue – we mustn’t take any steps backward right here in our own back yard.’

A spokesman for L’Occitane said: ‘L’Occitane does not and never has tested its products on animals.

‘Similarly, we insist that our suppliers certify that none of the ingredients we use are tested on animals.

‘We do sell our products in China however and the Chinese government reserves the right to conduct tests, but we are hopeful that this situation will change soon.

‘We are actively working with the BUAV, with whom we have a long term and constructive relationship, to influence the Chinese authorities to allow the alternative tests that apply elsewhere in the world.’

Jean-Christophe Samyn, Director of Caudalie UK, said: ‘We are against animal testing. We do not test our ingredients and formulas on animals and never will.’

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2181468/Big-beauty-brands-dropping-cruelty-free-animal-testing-policies-sell-products-China.html#ixzz22Mc2i5ny

Help us create a new world system where profit is out of the way, and no practices will be allowed that abuse other life forms unnecessarily. It’s up to us to be the change.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to test on animals because I dont consider them having any value

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize that animals are living beings, with as much value as myself, who breath, eat, feel etc… and who do not deserve to suffer

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to believe and say it is ok to test on animals because they cant speak and are not as smart as humans

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize that by using the above logic, we can also test on mentally retarded people

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize how smart animals are, andhow dumb humans often are

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to judge living beings worth by their perceived intelligence

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to act as if I am the god that can judge anothers worth
I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize how I, as an animals, would not like to be tested on, because I do not enjoy physical suffering, being locked up, being ripped away from my family etc…

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize how animals testing is not necessary at all, how there are many other options, and how many brands are already using comestics which involve no animals testing what so ever

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to place profit above life

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to be a complete asshole who hurts and punishes other living beings for the desire for money

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed a system that functions on profit, and for that, often abuses other life forms

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to buy animal tested products when I have the option to do otherwise, or do not require those products at all

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize how the system through media and peer pressure creates more desires into people, such as the desire to look pretty and use a lot of beauty products, and by doing that often buying more animal tested products which are not necessary at all

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to consider animal testing as normal, because I have always known about it and it doesnt make me feel bad… In that I remain a slave of my emotions, where I can allow extreme abuse simply because of the selfish reason that it doesnt make ME feel something.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to place my feelings above the common good

I commit myself to stop this system of exploitation, that functions on profit, where living beings are abused in order to make more money or live up to the desires of human beings, often programmed desires so that the system can make more money

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
