RSS

Day 39 – It Matters What I Am Not What I Do !

14 Jul
Day 39 – It Matters What I Am Not What I Do !

A man’s goodness is truly measured by what he is, not what he does.- Deepak Chopra

How exactly can we disconnect what we do from what we are/who we are?  We can’t. What we do/say/think is in fact who we are. Everything combined makes us who we are. “Goodness” cannot solely be measures by “what one is”. Goodness means that you do what is good, which means to do what is good for the common good. Is living in ignorance, doing nothing to change this abusive world system “goodness”? Is making excuses for the way things are, for children starving, child soldiers, sweatshop workers… goodness? Is allowing a system that exploits so many for profit, where psychopaths are on top of corporations and banking, goodness? Maybe I am missing the context or something.

If we see a person or an animal struggling on the street, and we think about that we are good people, helpful people, caring people… yet we refuse to give a helping help due to fear for example… then in fact that is not goodness. We may see ourselves as caring and helping, but our actions are the opposite. So what we DO is in fact very crucial. Because we can think highly of ourselves, and it can be a total illusion.

It can also be extremely deceptive. For example when someone claims to be a loving person, because he/she takes care of his/her family and friends. But actually is not truly loving, since he/she ignores those suffering in the world, not close to them. So that person is actually selfish. Why? Because he only cares about the ones HE feels strongly about, who are close to HIM. And that way we have this bright picture of ourselves, not actually seeing the behavior that we are portraying, and why we are in fact doing it.

Maybe Deepak Chopra didn’t think this quote through, and just said it in the moment because it had a nice ring to it. But the problem is that it can be made into yet another excuse for his readers and others to not do anything about the state of our world system. It is easy for us, because most of us reading this prosper from it. We don’t even see our own enslavement anymore, let alone the ones (majority) who suffer because of it.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to believe that what I do doesn’t matter, because it makes me feel better about the fact that I am not doing something worthwile, or doing something that I know is not good

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to believes and say that what I do doesn’t matter, because then I can feel better about not stepping up, remaining on the background, living my own life of self intrest

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to make excuses for my own limitations, my fears

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to no realize that what I am is defined partly by what I do. What I do shows who I am, wether I like this or not

I forgive myself that I havent accepted and allowed myself to realize that what I do in fact tells more about me then what I think I am inside my mind. Because when what I think about myself does not correspond with my actions, it is an illusiion, a fantasy I am keeping up about myself which I desire to be , and believe to be, to feel better. But in fact it is all self delusion and not reality.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize I have the power to change my actions, to actually do things differently, to forgive myself and change who I have become

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to, as a spiritual master, talk people into believing that what they do does not matter, not realizing the impact I am having with saying such as these, in a world that is full of abuse, DELIBERATE abuse, and needs dire actions and DOING to undo what we have done, and to set things right/ That we require people to stand up, to DO things, and show that we actually care, for real, and not just within our minds.

I commit myself to expose the abuse that we allow within this system, by this sytem, which we are all part of. And that this abuse (starvation, poverty, exploitation, animal abuse, war etc…) is in fact our creation and can be made undon.

When and as I notice the desire come up within me to sit back in self defeat, or feel not good or strong enough to change anything, I stop and breath and realize that I do not have to follow these thoughts or emotions. I can direct myself and I can stand for a change, and actually DO things

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 14, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
