RSS

Day 38 – I Eat Junk That Destroys My Body Because It Tastes Good

13 Jul
Day 38 – I Eat Junk That Destroys My Body Because It Tastes Good

Researchers at the University of Ghent in Belgium have found out that the people in Flanders are sick of healthy eating. We pay much less attention to our food than we did 10 years ago.

One of the reasons? People are sick of commercial messages and campaigns. Yoghurt that gives you radiant skin, drinks with antioxidants … The government as well launches one campaign after the other to make the population eat healthily. People are sick of it. We are so over satiated that we dont care anymore what is good or bad. The new motto is: “fuck it, I’ll just eat what I like”.

Hendrik Cammu, professor, gynecologist and author of “Een leven lang gezond”, states that the health commercials and slogans are not effective. For example: it has no effect to say “stop smoking, its bad for you”. What IS effective is making smoking more expensive and forbid it at work or in bars. And the same thing goes for food. ‘You have to make people eat more healthy, without them knowing it’, he states. There should be rules given to the food industry that will make people eat more healthy: Smaller portions, less trans fats etc… without putting those claims on the wrappings.

What does this article teach us?

How we often depend on rules to put us in the right direction. How we are often so irresponsible that we can’t make the decisions that are best for us and others. That we allow ourselves to be controlled by commercials and others. Because whether they spam us with such messages or not, it shouldn’t affect what we eat and our attitude towards food. We can simply see what is good for our bodies and that of others. But now, we get sick of commercial messages and what do we do? We go and eat food that is actually damaging to our bodies? What kind of sense does that make.

Unhealthy eating is not only something that affects yourself. You first of all require an industry that provides this crap food and sells it to people. Second, a lot of people develop illness after a while, because of the consumption of products not good for the human body. Third, it increases your chance of death which affects those close to you, as well as raising the health care systems bill.

So it is not just “your problem”, it is the communities problem. You are allowing your mind, to have control over your body, instead of you controlling your intake and choosing what is best for yourself and the whole. We are raising the cost for everyone.

A first step

This can indeed be to change the rules, to change the system, and to make sure no one can choose to abuse themselves and the common good. The food industry is about profit, obviously, that’s how it goes in a profit industry. So you see, it will never do what is actually best for all, but what is best for profit. Look at the isles in the supermarkets, the tons of junk you see in their. How many different kinds of candy and chips do we really need? How many types of fastfood meals full of preservatives do we require?

Sure ,it keeps people at work (and what a fun job it is), but that is only because we accept our system to work like this. As if this is the best we can do… give me a break. Yes, it is best for a minority, and they will convince you to think it is best for you as well.

But being able to indulge, and entertain yourself while actually the majority of the world population struggles, is not what is best. And often we feel that something is wrong ourselves. We feel that there is more to life than what we have created it to be. And indeed there is. And to make it real, we will have to change the current system, into one that will actually benefit us all and give us a much better life than the current.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to  eat and buy things that are harmful for my human body

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to place my taste over what is best for my body

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to eat things knowing that it causes distress to my body

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to put strain on the health care system by deliberatly eating unhealthy food that makes me sick, whereby I also compromise the common good, and thus have an  impact on all people living in the system, paying taxes etc…

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to be a bad example to my children, consuming unhealthy damaging food infront of them, or even giving it to them as if it is no big deal

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to give in to my childrens tantrums, because I have made them used to candy and unhealthy food, and when I take it away they start to scream and be angry, where I give in and give it to them even though it is harming them and may damage them on the long run

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to be a slave to commercials slogans, because they either make me buy a certain type of food, or make me do the opposit: resisting it and rejecting it – in this I loose my own self direction and common sense to do what is best for myself and the common good, regardless what those commercials or messages say, regardless of how many times they are repeated

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed a system where some people have to eat harmful food for their human bodies because they are not rich enough, or not in a position in the system to buy better food, enough nourishing food etc…

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to make excuses to why it is “not a big deal”, without even investigating my claim, without even looking at the consequences of this worldwide and for all, not just for myself – simply because of my desires, where I dont want it to be a big deal because it makes me feel better

I commit myself to eat what is good for my human body. When I notice something is causing bad reactions, or is scientifically proven to damage, I stop, let go of the desire and direct myself.

When and as I notice resistance comming up watching commercial adds or slogans about healthy food, I do not allow myself to follow this emotion. I breath through it and I direct myself. I wont allow myself to go into either one of the polarities of either doing as said, or not doing it, I simply look at what I can do best for myself.

When and as I ntoice my children throwing tantrums for unhealthy damaging food, I stop and breath and do not allow myself to follow my emotions or give in to them. I explain to them about the food, what it does, and I reprogram the behavior I taught them. That does not mean ban everything, but it means that they will not be a slave to it, and that they wont over indulge or consume it to the point that it causes harm to them. Like a piece of chocolat, does not harm them. If it does, ofcourse I shouldn’t allow it.

I commit myself to stop this system of profit where habbits that are damaging are promoted merely for the sake of profit – and I stand for a system that actually places the common good before everything else.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Day 38 – I Eat Junk That Destroys My Body Because It Tastes Good

  1. Sylvie Jacobs

    July 13, 2012 at 2:06 pm

    Cool – thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
