RSS

Day 31 – It’s Just an Animal

24 Jun
Day 31 – It’s Just an Animal

Many times I have heard people in my family say “it are just animals, they are made to be eaten”. As if the sole purpose of an animal is to be consumed. Not only that, but often times extremely abused. They are disregarded because they look and communicate differently. Even when confronted with the horror of the meat industry, such as how they keep foie gras ducks in these small cages shoving tubes down their throat to produce a fat and sick liver, one of them still is able to say: “mmm good food.”

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to see animals as inferior to humans

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to believe humans are superior to animals because I am a human myself, and consider myself superior because of whatever reason that justifies it.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to see humans as superior because they can talk with words, reason, build, invent etc…

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize that by that reason, I clame all disabled, mentally retarded etc… people as inferior

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to be a speciest

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to see my species as superior

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize that I would hate it if an alien species would come down to earth and eat my family because they see us as inferior- not realizing how I am doing and allowing the very same thing to animals

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not care about the abuse going on in the meat industry

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to ignore the abuse in the meat industry, and only think off those animals as “good food”, as a defense mechanism to not feel vulnerable. Because I fear to care, because caring means to look at this world the way it is and actually stand face to face with what we allow. And I want to hide from that, be blind to it, to not feel it, so I can continue to live in my illusion and be happy.

I commit myself to stand for a world that is best for all, including for the animals, plants etc… and to work on a system which takes in consideration all life, and stops abuse, and creates as less abuse as possible. A system that will not tolerate any unescessary abuse or exploitation, and will use the full potential of humanity to create the best world we possibly can.

When and as I notice I go into a defense mode when someone points out the truth of this world, I stop and breath. I let go of the emotions and I simply see what is here in reality, so that I can start to take responsibility for it.

I commit myself to stop placing my emotions and feelings on nr 1, even ignoring the truth because I want to feel good. Because by doing that, I am contributing to the abuse in this world, because I justify it, ignore it or just pretend to not give a shit.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
