RSS

Day 30 – idolizing

23 Jun
Day 30 – idolizing

In our world, we have some people who “made it”, who can sing will, entertain, act etc… A lot of one’s success often has to do with how your portrayed by the media, and how much attention they spend on you. A person is often picked out to be hyped, instead of the other way around. Manufacturing companies have to hype celebritiesto ensure exposure of all their spin off products.

People then look up to this person, or want to be with them. Because somehow, they are better than themselves, or than those they know. The idol becomes some kind of fantasy creature which is perfect, great, magnificent, and slightly inhuman. And people seem to be able to keep up this lie to themselves, even with all the paparazzi who shows that stars are no angels, not great superhumans, and are just ordinary people. They show pictures of stars without make-up, stars going to shop, getting drunk, divorcing, getting plastic surgery because of their insecurity etc… But still, some hold on to their illusion.

“Unfortunately, in our recent time we tend to live in ‘narcissistic societies’ that celebrate anyone who manages to get attention of the masses for whatever reason…we like to see ordinary people getting famous even for wrong reasons or for no achievement at all (the popularity of reality shows). The reason lies in our own wishful dream to be in their place, because if they can do it, we can be next, can’t we?

Why would be worshiping a scientist who discovers a cure? We know we would never be clever enough to be in his place. We like the idea of fame for everyone, just to ‘shine’ if only for one day… http://hubpages.com/question/53514/why-do-people-worship-moviefilm-celebrities”

 

Some people have a so called “void in their heart”, longing to fill this in with a fantasy world they create within their mind. The idol becomes an obsession, someone that fills that voice, and someone to dream about. Often one’s own future plans can involve this idol, even when it will never come true. At least the illusion is alive, and that is why the person is worshipping him/her.

Idols are also always in the spotlight. You see them in magazine’s, on TV, on the internet, you hear others talk about them. It is like you know them, like you are part of their life. It creates this familiarity which people feel good about. We are social animals who like to get in touch, meet others and spend time together (sometimes). The idols may be far away, but the media brings them close to us, as a part of the global community. Some people find comfort in reading about them and watching them, seeing how they are facing similar struggles: getting divorced, not looking “that hot” without make-up. So sometimes it is used as comparison, as a way to raise self-esteem by thinking “EVEN celebrities experience this”. Idolization is not a recent phenomenon. There were people in ancient times who openly worshiped idols, mostly in the form of statues of Gods or Goddesses. They prayed to them, asked them for guidance and gave them gifts to be in their favor. A manmade construct. It gives a sense of security, it takes away the threat of death and makes you feel like you are contributing, doing something “good”, often getting a second chance.

 

Here are the fan classifications:

Entertainment-social

This dimension comprises attitudes that fans are attracted to a favorite celebrity because of their perceived ability to entertain and become a social focus such as “I love to talk with others who admire my favorite celebrity” and “I like watching and hearing about my favorite celebrity when I am with a large group of people”.

Intense-personal

Intense-personal aspect of celebrity worship reflects intensive and compulsive feelings about the celebrity, akin to the obsessional tendencies of fans often referred to in the literature; for example “I share with my favorite celebrity a special bond that cannot be described in words” and “When something bad happens to my favorite celebrity I feel like it happened to me’”.

Borderline-pathological

This dimension is typified by uncontrollable behaviors and fantasies regarding scenarios involving their celebrities, such as “I have frequent thoughts about my favorite celebrity, even when I don’t want to” and “My favorite celebrity would immediately come to my rescue if I needed any type of help”.

Mental Health and Idolizing

Evidence indicates that poor mental health is correlated with celebrity worship. Researchers have examined the relationship between celebrity worship and mental health in United Kingdom adult samples. Maltby et al. (2001) found evidence to suggest that the intense-personal celebrity worship dimension was related to higher levels of depression and anxiety. Similarly, Maltby et al., in 2004, found that the intense-personal celebrity worship dimension was not only related to higher levels of depression and anxiety, but also higher levels of stress, negative affect, and reports of illness. Both these studies showed no evidence for a significant relationship between either the entertainment-social or the borderline-pathological dimensions of celebrity worship and mental health.

Another correlated pathology was recently reported by Maltby, Giles, Barber and McCutcheon (2005) who examined the role of celebrity interest in shaping body image cognitions. Among three separate UK samples (adolescents, students and older adults) individuals selected a celebrity of their own sex whose body/figure they liked and admired, and then completed the Celebrity Attitude Scale along with two measures of body image. Significant relationships were found between attitudes toward celebrities and body image among female adolescents only.

The findings suggested that, in female adolescence, there is an interaction between intense-personal celebrity worship and body image between the ages of 14 and 16 years, and some tentative evidence is found to suggest that this relationship disappears at the onset of adulthood, 17 to 20 years. These results are consistent with those authors who stress the importance of the formation of relationships with media figures, and suggest that relationships with celebrities perceived as having a good body shape may lead to a poor body image in female adolescents.

Within a clinical context the effect of celebrity might be more extreme, particularly when considering extreme aspects of celebrity worship. Maltby, Day, McCutcheon, Houran and Ashe (2006) examined the relationship between entertainment-social, intense-personal and borderline-pathological celebrity worship and obsessiveness, ego-identity, fantasy proneness and dissociation. Two of these variables drew particular attention; fantasy proneness (time spent fantasising, reporting hallucinatory intensities as real, reporting vivid childhood memories, having intense religious and paranormal experiences) and dissociation (reflects the lack of a normal integration of experiences, feelings, and thoughts in everyday consciousness and memory and is related to a number of psychiatric problems).

Though low levels of celebrity worship (entertainment-social) are not associated with any of the clinical measures, medium levels of celebrity worship (intense-personal) are related to fantasy proneness (around 10% of the shared variance), while high levels of celebrity worship (borderline-pathological) share a greater association with fantasy proneness (around 14% of the shared variance) and dissociation (around 3% of the shared variance, though the effect size of this is small and most probably due to the large sample size). This finding suggests that as celebrity worship becomes more intense, and the individual perceives having a relationship with the celebrity, the more the individual is prone to fantasies.

 

Self-direction, they are not better than you

Do you really require an idol, someone to worship and praise about others? Not at all. In this day and age, it will probably cost you a heck of a lot of money as well. Because let’s face it, that is what it is all about. Maybe not for you, but it surely is for the ones who profit from it ;) . Justin Bieber, really is just an ordinary guy singing. Girls fancy him because he looks attractive and because he sings love songs which they can imagine is about them. I find it quite disturbing how some young people are already singing romantic songs on quite a young age… But it is all that is portrayed to them ofcourse. But what if Bieber was not such a pretty boy, what if he was an “ugly” boy. Would this suddenly devalue him as a human being? So we have to be careful to not become blind and superficial, treating others as “more” or “better” because they make us feel good, because they are pretty, have a nice voice etc… It does not make them better people. A starving child cannot help it is starving. It has equal worth to Justin Bieber, yet we ignore it, because it does not make us feel good. Imagine if all the money we have given to idols and their fan material, would go to projects helping the poor… Just to put things into perspective. A million posters, a collection of your star’s shirts, pens, caps etc… Is it really necessary? Do trees and resources have to be exploited for this? What about all the people who have contributed to the common good? They are worshipped far less than celebrities ever have been. There is absolutely nothing wrong with liking an actor or a singer, but the part of idolization is insanity. People get brainwashing into believing that a celebrities opinion or what they wear, is more important than their own.

We actually do not require to idolize anyone. Because in the end: we are all living beings, equal with life. If you require this to raise your self-esteem, or feel better about your life, then that shows that something within you is dragging you down. That something you allow to be part of you, is creating low self-esteem or negative emotions. By using others, you will not remove the root cause of such emotions. You will simply compare yourself to others, or use others to obsess about, without really seeing why you feel the way you do. Also your emotions will become highly dependent on what the idol does or doesn’t do.

If you idolize someone because you see things in them that you are afraid of doing yourself, then you can work on pushing yourself to stop being a prisoner to your fears. So that you learn to do what you fear. Maybe you would like to sing but don’t have a “great” voice. So what? You can still sing. I consider it a human right. If the starting point is to be idolized yourself, then you have an ego problem that has to be addressed. A desire to be worshipped, or an insecurity that you wish to cover by positive feedback and attention from others.

So the crucial part here, is getting to know yourself and why you worship. Bringing yourself and your idol with both feets on the ground.

“The masses need someone to look up to, to idolize. At least, people who lack enough confidence in themselves do. Movie stars get more fame than scientists because everyone watches movies, but not everyone follows scientific and medical journals, or for that matter would even understand them. I agree with you, though. People shouldn’t idolize others anyway. Be inspired by others, but never put them up on a pedestal. By doing that, you’re just lowering yourself. http://hubpages.com/question/53514/why-do-people-worship-moviefilm-celebrities

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to place  another human being as superior to myself. Idolizing him/her as if they are gods above all, that I should think about a lot, and spend money on even though they are already stinking rich

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to spend money on celebrities who write texts about sex and vanity, superficialness and ego, instead of using my money for the common good

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to let a world exists where certain people can earn millions, based on a talent, or simply because they look good. And other people are totally deprived, even starve to death.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to let a world exists where people with beauty or “talent” are raised up on a pedestal above others, and are portrayed as “more” than other people who do not have that beauty or talent

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to contribute to a world of superficialness and ego

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to think celebrities are special

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to think celebrities are more special than me

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to  feel better when a celebrities has flaws because I used them to compare myself, and base my self esteem and self worth on others

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to subject myself to the opinion of others, or the opinion I think others may have about me

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to crave being a celebrity

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to crave being worshipped

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to crave being more than another

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize how superficial and vain some of the songtexts are

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize how my idol who participates in a beauty commercial, is actually supporting that brand, which tests its products on animals

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize that my idol has fear as well, and is concerned about not looking good

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to think that my idol has a better life than me

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to believe that my life would be better if I lived like my idol

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to base “a good life” on being worshipped and having a lot of luxury

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize how “having a good life” in our current system comes with a cost, a cost that many have to pay. Without workers, the stars would not be able to live their life style. Now they are being payed in the millions, often spend it on superficial items.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to desire a good life for myself but ignore the suffering of so many in this world

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize, that to have a good life, permanently, we will all have to work together to create a world free of abuse, and end this profit driven system

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to nto see the corporations behind my idol, to not see how they often follow along, and promote certain gadgets or products in order to make money. Even if those products are bad for the environment or other living beings.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not see how celebrities are used to keep the population entertained, and thus obedient and blind

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize that my celebrity crush is just a human being like I am. Not realizing that I wouldnt have a crush on him/her if they werent so attractive.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to devaluate human beings based on not having a nice exterior or good talent

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to place good looking people above people I dont find looking good

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize how superficial I am

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to do unto another what I do not want to be done unto me
I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not stand for a change in this world, to end superficial judgement so that humanity can live as one, as the equals we are, without basing someones value on the way they look

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to spend much money on items of my celebrity, because it makes me feel good

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to be a slave to my feelings and emotions

I commit myself to stop worshipping and idolizing. I am equal to other human beings, and because one has “talent” or gives me good feelings, does not make them better than others.
I commit myself to look at what they actually stand for, if what they sing is best for all and not abusive. If they message they spead is actually a message worth spreading. And to see what they actually use their money for.
When and as I notice the emotions come up, I stop and breath and do not follow them. I am the directive principle of myself and refuse to be a slave.

I commit myself to stand for a world where all human beings are treated with dignity and worth, no matter what their physical appearance or talent is. That no one deserves to have millions just because they can sing and entertaint. I realize that someone contributing to for example: our streets, building houses etc… is equally as valuable, sometimes even more considering the common good.

I can enjoy music, movies, actors etc… but I will not go into the whole worshipping and idolizing aspect.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
