RSS

Day 25 – I’m Afraid of the Dark!

13 May
Day 25 – I’m Afraid of the Dark!

I have been afraid of the dark for as long as I can remember. I remember laying in my crib as a baby and seeing these colored figured come to me. I would close my eyes and when I would open them they would be far away again and come closer again. It scared me because I didn’t know what it was. Then when I was a bit older I had some strange shit happening at night, weird noises etc… So that intensified my fear even more. Also what contributed to an increase in fear were horror movies and stories. I imagined experiencing these horrible thing, like something invisible grabbing my feet, or seeing something very scary that I didn’t want to see, or having a possession or poltergeist experience. After every scary movie, the fear was much worse.

Through the desteni forums I found help in how to deal with this fear, to realize where it comes from and to stop participating in it. I havent had fear in the dark anymore, except when I have heard strange things or had a nightmare. Sometimes the fear still gets stronger after a scary movie.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to imagine scary scenario’s that I have seen in movies or heard in stories of other people, believing it might happen to me and creating more fear within me by fueling those thoughts through my participation in them

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to be afraid of things that I cant explain

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to be afraid of the unknown

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to think things that I dont know are “scary” and should be fears

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to fear the dark

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to fear the dark because I cant identify things when they attack me

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to link the dark to being attacked, and to danger, based on the movies I have seen and stories I have heard

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to believe that things “from another world” or “dimension” are supposed to be feared and can do bad things to me

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize that even when those things happen, I do not have to fear it or imagine it being more powerful than me or hurting me, there is absolutely no point in having such thoughts

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to believe that strange other worldy beings are more than me, not equal to me

When and as I notice thoughts com eup about scary scenarios, I stop them and breath, I let them go and do not follow those thoughts. I realize that there is nothing to fear, and if something happens then I will do my best to direct myself the best way possible in the situation. If fear comes up when something DOES happen for real, then it happens, but it is absolutely pointless to think about it, imagine it, fuel those thoughts and fear things that are not here.

I realize the dark is nothing to fear, but that sometimes you have to be cautious, for example in real life dangerous areas. It would be foolish to walk there alone. So always use common sense.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Day 25 – I’m Afraid of the Dark!

Leave a Reply

 
